There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.
(1 John 4:18 ESV)

A lot of my posts lately have been sad and fearful. I won’t attempt to make apologies for that; it’s exactly how I feel. I’ve had a rough few months, to put it lightly. But as I was spending some time with the Lord and contemplating my life, I was convicted that I ought to be a lot more grateful than I am.

I am scared. Actually, I’m terrified. I graduate in less than 2 months. I have a job that, while awesome, is definitely going to be hard. I have to be an adult. I don’t feel ready for that!

I’m probably not ready for that. I’m most likely going to fall flat on my face more than once in the next year. But I realized this – I have lots of people in my life who are going to pick me up. And that’s really all we can do. Try, fail, and let those who love us most pick us up.

I have a family that loves me like crazy and is doing everything they can to help me get on my feet.

I have a group of friends that constantly shows me what it means to walk in the Light, live for eternity, and have a life filled joy.

I have a boyfriend who loves with so constantly and with such intensity, who shares my dreams. Adult life is scary, but a little bit easier when someone’s doing it with you.

I don’t talk about what I’m grateful for, or what fills me with joy. I don’t proclaim to the world what wonderful grace I’ve been given. And I think I need to. So the next three posts will be on these groups of people that have supported me the whole way. 

Next year is going to be really hard. But I’m so thankful God has given me everyone I need.

 

