I am so sorry.  I apologize to the world – to all of my friends, my family, everyone that has known me.  I have not been the Christian that I should have been.  And I must confess to you all of my transgressions, though they are great in number. I realize that I have been forgiven by the Savior, but I feel that I also need to ask forgiveness from you, my brothers and sisters.

I am sorry. I am sorry that I have said one thing with my lips, and said another entirely with my actions.  I am sorry that failed to do what I know to be right, and I have done what I know to be wrong.  I am sorry. I have have ignored the abandoned of this world – I have not fed the hungry, tended to the sick, or clothed the naked.  I have failed to defend the weak and innocent.  I have turned my eyes away from the lowly and covered my ears to ignore the cries of those who needed me most.
I have used harsh words and thought mean things.  I have wanted things that don’t belong to me.  I have gossiped too much and complemented too little.  I have placed my own needs high above all others.  I have failed to be a humble servant.
I am quick to judge others, and reluctant to judge myself honestly.  I have excused what I’ve failed to do and rationalized what I have done.  I’ve kept quiet when I should have spoken up.  And I’ve opened my mouth and said cruel, harsh words on things I know nothing about. I’ve spent too much money on myself, and not given enough to the poor.

I have been everything I hate – selfish, greedy, judgmental, a liar, a cheater, cruel, harsh, hateful, spiteful, lustful, prideful. Sinful.
I have dragged the name of the Savior I love above all else through the mud.

And I hope that you, the world, can forgive me.  I have failed to represent Christ the way I should have.

I’m a liar. I’m a cheater. I’m a sinner.  – I’m a Christian.

When Say I Am A Christian
Carol Wimmer

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not shouting “I am saved”
I’m whispering “I was lost”
That is why I chose this way.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I don’t speak of this with pride.
I’m confessing that I stumble
And need someone to be my guide.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m weak
And pray for strength to carry on.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not bragging of success.
I’m admitting I have failed
And cannot ever pay the debt.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not claiming to be perfect,
My flaws are all too visible,
But God believes I’m worth it.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I still feel the sting of pain
I have my share of heartaches
Which is why I speak His name.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I do not wish to judge.
I have no authority.
I only know I’m loved.