So…I was going to try and write a lovely, deep, heartfelt blog for you today about sin or sanctification or something as heavy as a brick wrapped in John Piper theology. But I’m in far too whimsical of a mood to do that. So here it goes!

One of my favorite things in the whole wide world is side hugs. No, scratch that. Making fun of side hugs.  Before you Full-Frontal Prohibitionists jump on this and start cranking out signs with slogans like “Torsos that make contact with other torsos shall never touch mine!” (Get it? It’s a clever reference to this), let me qualify that statement. I feel that I am allowed to say that because I frequently give side-hugs. I love side hugs.  You might even say that they’re Biblical. We’re very familar.

I’ve only recently become acquainted with side hugs, since I started college. For whatever reason, in high school,  hugging wasn’t a popular way to greet friends.  Now that I’ve been here a few months, I feel that I’ve become great at preforming the side hug. Here are my few tips:

The Expected Side-Hug

Of course, the easiest way to do a side-hug is to simply indicate that is what you are going for initially. If at all possible, initiate the inevitable hug yourself. Position your torso as parallel as possible to the hug-ee. Only raise one arm. This will indicate to the hug-ee that you are requesting a side hug, and, with any luck, they will respond appropriately.

The Ninja Side Hug

This is a Full-Frontal hug turned into it’s weaker, but far less awkward, cousin. Typically, this hug is not initiated by you. The hug is initiated by the hugger, usually in the form of raising both arms and moving of the torso horizontally towards yours. The key to this one is recognizing these two simple signs early. Once recognized, you must act fast. Quickly move your torso, so that it becomes parallel to the hugger. Lift the arm closest to the hugger, and begin putting it around their neck/shoulders. They will usually get the point, and will only side-hug you back. Problem solved.

The “Escape” Side Hug

This side-hug is a last ditch effort, only to be used when a full-frontal hug was engaged too quickly to be ninja-ed into a side hug. Typically, you have already been engaged into a full-frontal hug. The key to this is fixing that mistake as soon as possible. As soon as you notice the unwanted full frontal hugs, act quickly. Lift  one arm. Move your torso to the correct, parallel position. As you do so, one of the hugger’s arms should become disloged, firmly cementing what was a full-frontal hug into a side hug. To make things a little less awkward, you can pretend like you needed to say something, or that you need to reach for something – but either way, this maneuver is going to be awkward, so it really doesn’t make that much of a difference.

I hope these tips help you as much as they’ve helped me. I love the side hug!

