So one requirement for my major is the horrible class that is Philosophy 120 – AKA “Logic”.  This class is very tedious and involves lots of detailed work with categorical syllogisms and the such.  Today in class, we were working with the said categorical syllogisms.  And for those of you who don’t know what those are, they’re logical arguments that, in their standard form, look something like this.  P is S.  S is M.  Therefore, P is M. Pretty boring.  As a class exercise, we were instructed to write a few of our own.  After class, I had a bit of time (Phil 101 was cancelled, YAY!), so I sat down with my Bible to do my reading for the day.  I came across the verse in 1 John that reads “Anyone that does not love does not know God, because God is love” (1 John 4:8).  Immediately, I was reminded of 1 Corinthians 13:4-8.  And being the good little student I am, my mind started working in categorical syllogisms.

If we view 1 John 4:8 and 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 as a categorical syllogism, it gives us a wonderful insight into who God is and what He is like.  I won’t say anything more on this subject, because I think the altered verses of the Bible I’m about to include say it all.

God is love. (1 John 4:8)
Love is…(1 Corinthians 13:4-8)
Therefore-

God is patient and kind; God does not envy or boast; He is not arrogant or rude.  He is not self-seeking; He is not irritable or resentful; He does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. God bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. GOD NEVER FAILS.